SMF Board of Governors

At the Annual General Meeting on 20 September 2013, the decision was made to form the Board of Governors (BOG) to enhance the Federation’s corporate governance and accountability. It also serves as an additional avenue to safeguard the interests of SMF.

The BOG consists of at least three but not more than seven persons who are either Past Presidents of SMF or Eminent Persons appointed by the Board.  Mr George Yeo, Mr Renny Yeo and Mr Bob Tan were appointed on 28 January 2014 as the inaugural SMF BOG and they have been recently joined by Datuk Robert Chua since 1 July 2018.. The term of office of the Board shall end six months after the conclusion of the Annual General Meeting of an election year.

SMF is one of the few local trade associations that installed the BOG as a measure of maintaining the integrity of the Federation and safeguarding the interests of its members.


  • Mr George Yeo served for 23 years in the Singapore Government from 1988 to 2011 as Minister of State for Finance, then as Minister for Information and the Arts, Health, Trade and Industry, and Foreign Affair.

    Mr Yeo is the Chairman of Kerry Logistics. He is also a Director of AIA, Wilmar and Kerry Holdings.

  • Mr Renny Yeo is currently a Board Member of Enterprise Singapore, formerly known as SPRING Singapore and IE Singapore. He is also the Chairman of The Singapore Accreditation Council (SAC) and Advisor of Electrical & Electronic Product Standards Committee (EESC). Mr Yeo is an Independent Non-Executive Director of OEL (Holdings) Ltd and Sin Heng Heavy Machinery Ltd. He was the recipient of the Pingat Bakti Masyarakat (PBM) in 2000 and is conferred the Bintang Bakti Masyarakat (BBM) in 2018. Mr Yeo is a former President as well as the former Emeritus President of SMF (then known as the Singapore Manufacturers' Association).

  • Mr Bob Tan is currently the Chairman of Jurong Engineering Ltd, SingEx Holdings Pte Ltd, Singapore LNG Corporation Pte Ltd and Institute of Technical Education Board of Governors.  In addition, he is also the Director of Ascott Residence Trust and Sembcorp Marine Ltd. Mr Tan also sits on the Board of the Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore and SMRT Corporation Ltd. Mr Tan is also a former Deputy President of SMF (then known as the Singapore Manufacturers' Association).

  • Mr Robert Chua

    Mr Robert Chua is currently the Executive Chairman of the Excellent Family Lifestyle Group and the Corporate Advisor/Consultant for Major Group Projects of China's Haier Group. He is also the Chairman of the Board of Governors of the Institute of Management Consultants (Singapore). Mr Chua is considered one of the pioneer of the Singapore air conditioning industry. He co-founded the A.C.E. Daikin Group in 1968, and served as its Executive Chairman and CEO until his retirement from the Group in 2002. Mr Chua is the former President of SMF (then known as the Singapore Confederation of Industries).