SMF Board of Governors

At the Annual General Meeting on 20 September 2013, the decision was made to form the Board of Governors (BOG) to enhance the Federation’s corporate governance and accountability. It also serves as an additional avenue to safeguard the interests of SMF.

The BOG consists of at least three but not more than seven persons who are either Past Presidents of SMF or Eminent Persons appointed by the Board.  Mr George Yeo, Mr Renny Yeo and Mr Bob Tan were appointed on 28 January 2014 as the inaugural SMF BOG. The term of office of the Board shall end six months after the conclusion of the Annual General Meeting of an election year.

SMF is one of the few local trade associations that installed the BOG as a measure of maintaining the integrity of the Federation and safeguarding the interests of its members.

Mr George Yeo served for 23 years in the Singapore Government from 1988 to 2011 as Minister of State for Finance, then as Minister for Information and the Arts, Health, Trade and Industry, and Foreign Affair.

Mr Yeo has been the Chairman of Kerry Logistics since August 2012 and became the Executive Director of the Company in November 2013. Mr Yeo is also Deputy Chairman and a Director of Kerry Group Limited, a controlling shareholder of Kerry Logistics.

Mr Renny Yeo is the current Chairman of Singapore Accreditation Council. Mr Yeo is also a Director of Singapore Business Advisors & Consultants Council Limited (SBACC) as well as a member of the SBACC Governing Council.  In addition, Mr Yeo sits on the Council of Standard Council (SPRING Singapore) as a member and is a Board Member of SPRING Singapore. Mr Yeo is a former President of Singapore Manufacturing Federation.

Mr Bob Tan is currently the Chairman of Jurong Engineering Ltd, SINGNEX Holdings Pte Ltd, Singapore LNG Corporation Pte Ltd and Institute of Technical Education Board of Governors.  Mr Tan also sits on the Board of the Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore, SMRT Corporation Ltd and is currently the President of Singapore Golf Association. Mr Tan is also a former Deputy President of Singapore Manufacturing Federation.



Information is correct as of June 2015